Chassis components and its classifications

Chassis components and its classifications

May 31, 2018 0 By Harshit Mishra

Chassis components and its classifications

Here we going to discuss about the chassis components and its classifications. That how chassis form what are there components and what are the classification of the chassis.


Chassis is a French term was initially used to donate the frame or main structure of a vehicle. It is now extensively used to donate the complete vehicle accept the body for a heavy vehicle having a separate body. For light vehicles of Mono construction types having body integral with frame, it denotes the whole vehicle excluding fitment inside the body.

The Chassis contain every single significant unit important to pushed vehicle, coordinate its movement, stop it and enable it to run easily finished uneven surfaces. It is also known as carrying unit.

Chassis components and its classifications



1. Frame
2.front suspension
3.Steering mechanism
5.Engine, clutch, gearbox
6.Propeller shaft
7.Rear springs
8.Road wheels
9.Differential,half shaft, universal joints
10.Brakes and Braking System
11.Storage battery
13.Shock absorbers,fuel tank, petrol and hydraulics pipes cables and some means of mounting this components.

Which chassis is subdivided into the running gear and the power plant. The running gear includes the frame, steering system, suspension system, Brakes wheels and tires the power plant includes the engine assembly and power transmission assembly the electrical system is a part of both cases and body.

Chassis components and its classifications


This Figure(Chassis components and its classifications) shows the chassis of Ashok Leyland Comet model commercial vehicle. Here it may be seen that the engine is located at front of the vehicle. It is connected to the clutch, which consists of two parts, but affixed to the engine flywheel and other to the gearbox shaft.

The drive of the engine can be connected or disconnected from the gearbox by the driver with the help of the clutch pedal. The engine power is transmitted from the gearbox to the propeller shaft, than to the differential and finally to the wheels via the rear axles.


According to the fitting of engine, a classifications of chassis is as follows:
1.Full forward.
3.Bus chassis.
4.Engine in front.
5.Engine at centre.

Full Forward chassis is that in which the engine is fitted outside the driver cabin Or seat like in cars and old Tata trucks. In this arrangement, the driver seat is far enough from the front wheels and is not able to see just in front of the vehicle.

In semi-forward chassis, half portion of the engine is in the driver cabin and the remaining half is outside the cabin like in standard, bedford pickup. It gives better perceivability of street to the driver.
In transport case, the entire engine is fitted in the driver lodge. It provides an increased floor space in the vehicle. The drive seat is just above the front wheel and he can see the full front road right from the front wheels.

In most of the vehicles, the engine is fitted in the front portion of the chassis. The drive is given to the front wheels only like in matador vehicles.

The engine may also be fitted at the back portion of the chassis, like in Volkeswagon of West Germany. Leyland bus of England. This arrangement does not require long propellor shaft. Gearbox and Differential are combined in one unit.

The engine me also be fitted at the center of the chassis. This arrangement providers full space of chassis floor to use. In Royal Bengal tiger World master buses of Delhi transport the engines are fitted at the centre of the chassis.

As indicated by the quantity of the wheels fitted in the vehicles and the quantity of the driving wheels, the vehicle case are of following types:-

  1. 4×2 drive chassis vehicle – consists of 4 wheels out out of which 2 wheels are the driving wheels.
  2. 4×4 drive chassis vehicle – consists of 4 wheels and all of them are the driving wheels.
  3. 6×2 drive chassis vehicle – consists of 6 wheels out of which 2 wheels are the driving wheels.
  4. 6×4 drive chassis vehicle-consists of 6 wheels out of which 4 wheels are the driving wheels.


Chassis components and its classifications

Img src:-

NOTE:- One side of the axle may consists of either one wheel and two. It is considered one unit.

In long wheel base chassis vehicle, the distance between the front and the rear wheels(called the wheel base)is more than the short wheel base chassis vehicle. This arrangement provides long chassis and more floor area of the chassis for goods and passengers. In this type of chassis, the front overhang and particularly the rear overhang are also more.

In this topic we discussed about the “chassis components and its classifications” Hope you understand it clearly for further study materials and topics please comment in the comment section.

If you want to know more about Automobile parts and accesories click here…..



Follow & like us on Facebook & Instagram.